Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight: A Young Man's Voice From The Silence Of Autism

$26.99  Hardback
Add to cartQuestions?

Naoki Higashida

  • Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight

192 pages
ISBN: 9781444799088

Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight is Naoki Higashida's gently subversive follow-up to his phenomenally popular book The Reason I Jump, which he wrote as a 13-year-old boy with severe autism.

Now he shares his thoughts and experiences as a young man, exploring a range of topics from education, identity, family and society to personal growth. He has also written an enigmatic story, 'A Journey', especially for this edition, which is introduced by David Mitchell (co-translator with KA Yoshida). Part memoir, part critique of a world that sees disabilities ahead of disabled people, it opens a window into the mind and world of an autistic, non-verbal young adult, providing remarkable insights into autism in general.